Settling Into Third Trimester – 28 weeks

Well folks, only 12 weeks to go! Baby is the size of eggplant this week (about 2.5 lbs and 16 inches long)! His newest trick is blinking and he has eyelashes now.

1404273850270-1

We celebrated Asaf’s birthday (double 3s!) this past weekend with friends, burgers and billiards. Oh! And he got a BBQ!

IMG_0314

20140622_134228IMG_0300

We also visited Babies “R” Us to finish up our registry and attend their Happy Places Event. We won a Mickey Mouse blanket! Woo hoo!

PhotoEditor_1404274457325

In other news, I’ve been really trying to let this whole 3rd trimester thing settle in. Now that we’re in the home stretch, my initial instinct is to prepare, prepare, prepare. On the other hand, there is something to be said about the importance of enjoying the NOW. I have a tiny human living and growing inside of me! And in just a few short months, he will change our lives in the most wonderful (and truth be told, extreme) way. So this coming week my goal is to create/maintain some balance between enjoying my life now and preparing for all that is about to be. Wish me luck!

My 28 week update:

Total weight gain so far: 17 pounds which I’m mostly/pretty ok with.

Cravings: The most delicious thing I ate this week was a slightly frozen cup of chocolate Jello pudding. Seriously guys, it was like dipping a spoon into heaven.

What I’m excited about: Finally started our diaper stockpile! Also, received several offers to help out with a baby shower. Feeling tremendously blessed.

What I’m nervous about: Getting the nursery set up. Goal is to have it all finished 8 weeks before Baby arrives. Stay tuned…

New this week: Continued increase in kicking/punching/barrel rolls. Changed my prenatal vitamin this week from NatureMade to Rainbow Light since I’d heard so many good things about the latter. Although it said it was “gentle on stomachs” it made me a little nauseous. Still, I’m encouraged by the fact that it is all natural so I’m going to try to stick with it.

Note to Baby: I’m not sure if you really loved the Transformers movie or you really hated it. You were certainly giving me some strong signals either way! Just wanted you to know that I was only kidding when I said we were going to name you Optimus Prime. 😉

