Third Trimester Check-Up – 29 weeks

While America celebrated a birthday this week (no, it isn’t 2014 years old) WE celebrated week 29 of preggohood! And as an added bonus, my sister Sophia came to stay with us over the long holiday weekend. Sophia is 5 (and 1/2) and she is a character! When Asaf and I first started dating I used to babysit her a lot and as a result, she’s known him practically as long as she’s known me. Weekends with her are always an adventure. This time around we took her to Hurricane Harbor (a water park). We scored big time as our friends Leslie and Kevin have season passes and were able to bring us in for freeeeeeeeeee! She said it was the bestest day EVER.

IMG_20140704_224058

Yesterday we had our 3rd trimester check up at Cedars. The Dr. there told us that Baby is measuring one week ahead of schedule! Currently they estimate his weight at 3lbs 6 oz which puts him in the 55th percentile. Unfortunately, Baby is still breech but, they said that most babies move into the correct position between 32-36 weeks so I shouldn’t be too concerned. Did you know that only 4% of babies don’t turn at all? I haven’t done my own research on this (maybe I don’t want to know if this isn’t true) but it was comforting nevertheless. Lastly, they couldn’t give us a clear shot of his face yesterday which really bummed me out. He was hiding behind his umbilical cord. A camera shy baby? Oh no, that just won’t do!

1404928871314

Our not-so-great 3rd trimester sonogram pic

So this week Baby is supposed to be the size of a butternut squash but it seems he’s already ahead of his time! We’ve gone ahead and moved onto pineapple status! And over the next 11 weeks, he’ll more than double — or even come close to tripling — his weight! I don’t know how he’s going to do it. He already seems to be pretty squished in there!

My 29 week update:

Total weight gain so far: 19 lbs.

Cravings: My Mom read my blog post from last week and was appalled at the amount of $ I spent on cherries. She bought me 4lbs of them!!! No other cravings. Actually, I’m having less of an appetite lately. I always feel full. 😦

What I’m excited about: Currently planning a babymoon! I’m really looking forward to a quiet little getaway before our little guy makes his big arrival!

This week’s rant: Dear Victoria’s Secret, Please give a girl a break and stop sending me weekly catalogs! I am in no mood to see beautiful (and possibly malnourished) bikini clad models. My giant melon boobs have no use for your currently featured “bralettes” and my trunk is currently packed with junk that will overload those “cheeksters” you keep talking about. Semi-annual sale or not, you are getting to be quite depressing!

New this week: Lately Baby has discovered that my bladder can be used as a trampoline. Although I’m supportive of his need for recreational activities, I’m living in constant fear of wetting my pants! Not funny Mister!

Note to Baby: This week I had a dream that you came out while I was on my way to our baby shower. (In my dream) I was mildly surprised but decided to just wrap you up and bring you along. I’d like to think this indicates that I’m prepared for anything and not just that I wouldn’t let birth get in the way of a good party. In any case, please no surprise appearance at (or on the way to) your shower. Thanks!

