Today you are ten months old.

Dear Liam,

You are an amazing kid and the last 10 months have been all that I hoped for, and so much more.

MILESTONES

You have six teeth now. The first two (bottom center) came between 5 and 6 months. Then three appeared just days before we left for Israel. And just a week ago, you got one more! They are giant and bright white and they have changed your face. When you smile you look like a child now, no longer a tiny baby. I love your beautiful little teeth but oh, how I miss that gummy smile!

You say “Abba”, “Mama” and most recently “Tata”. I have no idea what you mean by “Tata”. Do you mean “Safta”? Sara (she’s our neighbor) thinks you mean “boobs”. :/ Personally, I think you may just like the way it sounds. I see you working out new sounds sometimes. “Ta-ta. Taaaaata.” Sometimes you whisper “Ata. Ahhhhhta”. You’ve got the best thinking face.

You aren’t walking just yet (no pressure) but, you crawl lightening fast and you can pull yourself up to stand without any trouble. You also like to climb. Your favorite places in the house are the places we try to keep you away from. This includes the media stand with the glass doors and the fireplace. I think that the fireplace might be your favorite even though the screen almost fell on you twice. :-O

You still wake up in the middle of the night. You cry out some time around 2am. Usually, when I walk in you are standing against the crib with a pacifier in your mouth. Once you see me you reach your arms up to me and my heart goes mushy while I pick you up, feeling your tiny warm body against my own. You eat a bit and always fall right back to sleep. It’s not so bad. At daycare though, you fight naps like crazy and that can be quite stressful for everyone. Boy does Ruthie give me an earful some days!

PERSONALITY

Sometimes when you wake up in the morning, you sit straight up and clap. I love these mornings. I feel like you are celebrating the day and saying “OK. Let’s get started!”. You are generally a morning person. Like Abba.

You are NOT a picky eater. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever seen you spit anything out!  The first spoonful of almost everything gets a face but, once you have tried something, you eat (a lot of) it and seem to enjoy your food. Your first solid food was avocado but, since then you’ve eaten all sorts of goodies: applesauce, sweet potato, peas, chicken, rice, chicken soup, porridge/ oatmeal, broccoli, squash, corn, carrots, turkey…even ice cream! One morning in Israel, I walked into the kitchen and Saba was spooning Ben & Jerry’s Super Fudge Chunk into your mouth! Hahaha Oh! And you really like drinking water from a cup. I think it makes you feel like a big boy.

People really love you. You are very friendly (maybe a tad nosy too hahaha) and everywhere we go people want to say hello and tell us how cute you are. When we were traveling with you, several strangers asked to hold you and during one of our flights, a woman came by and started singing nursery rhymes to you. Your temperament is generally calm. When you cry it is usually because you are very tired or very hungry. You probably got that from me. Sorry!

You LOVE music. You dance and clap along whenever we hear music and it makes Abba and me so happy. We sing a lot. Itsy Bitsy Spider is your favorite even though Abba and I sometimes use it to calm you down when we have to give you medicine or suck boogers from your nose. I sing it too when I clip your nails. You also like: wheels on the bus, the pajama-ma song, if you’re happy and you know it, ya dime ala rhosh and the Safta song that ends in tickles. Oh! And there is a song called “Shut Up and Dance” by Walk the Moon. This is your favorite radio song. It’s very catchy. I love it too.

You heal so fast! One day you have a small scratch and the next it’s practically disappeared! We call you baby Wolverine lol. You also have a very strong head. Sometimes you bump me with it so hard. I say “ouch!” but you don’t react! Sidenote: Your skin is literally like butter. Smooth, silky and perfectly tanned butter that never peels or burns (don’t worry we put sunscreen on you).

I have learned so much in these last 10 months. I’ve learned to trust my new found Mommy instincts, that I can survive on much less sleep than I thought, that it’s OK to ask Abba for help (he wants to!), that dirty dishes can wait until morning, that the best smell in the world is you, fresh out of the bath, that breast milk is good for pinkeye (and a lot of other things!), that family is not limited by blood or time zones and that the Nose Frida is one of the most rewarding products I’ve ever used. Most days have been great. Some days have been hard. But every single day I am thankful for you.

liam10mos

