12 weeks

Last Friday, I had 11 vials of blood drawn (!!!). My Doctor wanted to run a full panel of tests to screen for any chromosomal abnormalities. As a bonus, we’ll get to find out if Baby 2.0 is a girl or a boy in just under a week! I am supposed to go to a different hospital to have our first trimester ultrasound done by a Perinatologist, but, it looks like the referral is taking longer than it’s supposed to. Here’s the trouble, we have to have this done prior to 13 weeks 5 days. Since we’re all flying to Hawaii next Thursday, I won’t be available to see the Doctor Thursday or Friday. That leaves us with only 4 days to have the ultrasound done. I’m getting quite nervous and well, I’ll be honest…everyone I’ve talked to is a complete idiot  I’m not getting much assistance from the Doctors’ offices.

In better news, this week Baby 2 is developing reflexes. His or her fingers are opening and closing and their tiny little toes are curling! Baby is now roughly the size of a lime. I can’t believe that we’re already so close to the end of first trimester! It seems like things are moving really fast this time around. We still haven’t publicly revealed that we’re expecting yet. Although I can be a bit of a loudmouth, I really enjoy this early time, having this secret all to ourselves.

Week 12 update:

Total weight gain so far: 5 lbs according to the scale at the Doctor’s office.

Cravings: Breakfast food – Eggs and cheese! Come to Mama!

What I’m excited about: Finding out if you are a girl or a boy. Our trip next week to Hawaii.

What I’m nervous about: A few days ago I felt so dizzy in the shower and I had to sit down. That was scary!

New this week: Officially in maternity pants – and loving it!

Note to Baby: Spent a lot of time this week thinking about how much your brother will love you. He has so much love to give. I can’t wait for you to meet him.

