24/25 weeks – Mom Guilt

Thank goodness for those annoying  informative BabyCenter/What To Expect emails or I’d never know how many weeks have passed! I was just telling Asaf, “you know, she’s the size of an eggplant now.” and he said “Eggplant?! What happened to mango?”. “We missed it, Sweetheart.” We missed it. I literally don’t know where the last weeks have gone. At times I wonder, am I missing out on my entire 2nd pregnancy experience? That leads me to today’s topic: Mom guilt.

There are many days I find myself thinking that I’m just not prepared for Baby Girl. And I can’t help feeling like that’s because I haven’t taken the time to really focus on my pregnancy this go around. Don’t get me wrong -I feel the (constant) kicks, I frequently browse the girl section of Baby Gap and I text possible names to Asaf practically every other day, and yet – I can’t help but feel like I’m cheating her somehow.

And speaking of getting cheated, what about my little Liam? I’ve been wondering more and more, will he resent our newest addition for stealing his parents? (I know you must be thinking “It’s a little late for that now.” You’re  absolutely right.) I figure this kind of thinking must be the equivalent to getting cold feet before your wedding day. Of course, I’ve talked to Asaf about all of this (mostly at night when he’s trying to sleep). He says a sibling is the best gift you can give a child. However, it should be noted that this is coming from a guy who was literally born as part of a set (he’s a twin) so he’s never known any other way. This came up on my Instagram feed yesterday and made me feel a little better.

FB_IMG_1453317941965

Anywho, onto baby updates! During the past two weeks, Baby has been growing lots of hair! She now has a full set of eyelashes and eyebrows and of course, hair atop her head!  Her nostrils have begun to open up which allows her to practice “breathing” even though she won’t take her first breath for another 3 months. She weighs just less than two pounds now but, boy does she know how to make her presence known!

Earlier this week I was called back in for some additional scans of Baby’s heart which was a little scary. But luckily, they were able to get the angles they were missing this time and it didn’t take nearly as long. We even got an additional shot of her face! She’s a cutie that’s for sure!

20160112_103701-1

Week 25 update:

Total weight gain so far: 19 lbs

Cravings: Nothing too exciting to report unfortunately. I’ve officially reached the point of pregnancy where there is a LOT less room for food which can sometimes make eating a chore.

What I’m excited about: As we approach third trimester we are getting much closer to choosing a name!!!. Also, baby received a sweet gift in the mail from my long distance friend Gaby yesterday.

What I’m nervous about: I’ve postponed Liam’s return to daycare for a few more weeks. I blamed it on his recent illness (croup again! This time with a tonsil infection!) But really, I think I’m just being selfish! 🙁

New this week: I’m fairly certain that Baby Girl is no longer breech. I feel her low in my belly whereas I felt Liam’s head up and under my rib cage from this point on. As a result of her location, my belly button has “popped”!!!

