26 weeks – The Many Adventures of Liam the Kid

As I mentioned in last week’s post, I have postponed Liam’s transition back to daycare. It’s been difficult for me to think about spending all day away from him (hmm, NOW who has separation anxiety?!), even though I know that he will enjoy the socialization. I guess I’ve been getting used to this stay at home Mom gig (and yes, I’m rockin’ that Mom bun every chance I get!). Every week I plan out our activities and it’s actually become quite fun for me. Library storytime, play dates, free museum days, free trial music classes – I mark them all down and try to cross as many off as possible. It’s a rush – like those people that go absolutely crazy clipping coupons all week and then get unbelievably giddy standing in the checkout line.

A few of our recent adventures:

He is totally questioning my parenting skills in that last picture. I think he was a little freaked out by the performers. To be honest, I wasn’t prepared for the singing clowns myself.

I like to think that these outings are beneficial for 2.0 too. 🙂 Yes, I imagine my little cucumber is getting used to constant noise and movement (from all the Liam chasing) which I can’t help but see as a good thing. Here’s what else she’s been up to this week:

At 26 weeks, your baby’s lungs start to develop surfactant. This substance helps keep the lungs inflated after birth, and now that it’s being produced, your little one has a better chance of survival if she were born now. Her fat stores are steadily increasing, and she’s also continuing to grow bone material. Your growing baby now weighs in at close to 800 grams (two pounds). She’s about 14 inches long, or roughly as long as a cucumber.

via www.givingbirthwithconfidence.org

Week 26 update:

Total weight gain so far: 20 lbs

Cravings: While in line at Trader Joe’s I asked Asaf if he’d like to split a dark chocolate truffle bar. The next night I ate 1/4… and then over the course of the next few days, I somehow managed to eat the whole thing! I’d like to buy him another one but I’m pretty sure we all know how that will go. I love chocolate and dark chocolate is my favorite by far!

What I’m excited about: Next week I’ll hit the 7 month/3rd trimester mark! Woo Hoo!

What I’m nervous about: I am going in for my glucose test next week. I think I’ll pass but it’s still quite nerve wracking.

New this week: I have been having a few lightheaded moments which I attribute to my poor iron levels (darn genetics!). I am currently on an iron supplement in addition to my regular prenatal vitamins but, depending on how I feel this week – I may need to up the dosage. I will definitely be talking to my OB about it at my next appointment.

Note to Baby: Hello, Sweet Girl! You certainly are an active little thing! Especially at night! Sorry that Liam has been prodding at you a bit lately – I think he is wondering what you are doing inside there!

