Week 27 – Hello 3rd Trimester

We’ve officially entered third trimester! Here’s what’s happening:

Before I start with the baby stuff, I have to tell you about the new reed diffuser I bought for our bedroom. Guys, I think I am OBSESSED! It smells sooooo good! Technically I think it’s considered a holiday scent (aisle end clearance section, holla!) but I’m in <3!  The awful part? I tossed the box before I knew that it was my scent soulmate and now I don’t know what exact scent is. I’ve since been to Target and have had no luck finding another! Wah!

OK, now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

This week, I’ve been putting in some effort towards taking a step back and really experiencing this pregnancy (though she’s pretty hard to ignore these days). Some examples: When I wake up, I make sure to say “Good Morning” to her before heading out to greet Liam and Asaf. And when I sing Liam his bedtime songs (Can’t Help Falling In Love and Love Me Tender, in case you’re curious), I rub my belly so she knows I’m singing to her too. Occasionally, I’ll even ask if she liked the peanut butter toast or the chocolate chip cookie I just ate. Note: I always imagine her nodding enthusiastically to any and all food related questions. Also, I bought her a swaddle blanket today. Isn’t it just the sweetest? Now to hunt down some baby bows!

littleunicorn.com

At almost a 2 full pounds, she is now the size of a cauliflower head! She has been moving quite a lot this week and I think she is prone to hiccups! But the big news of the week is that she can now recognize our voices! How exciting!

Her auditory development(hearing) is progressing as the network of nerves to the ears matures — though the sounds she hears are muffled thanks to the creamy coating of vernix covering those ears.

-http://www.whattoexpect.com/

I love knowing that she is already becoming familiar with us, even before she arrives!

Week 27 update:

Total weight gain so far: So, I went to the Doctor this week and discovered that I’ve gained 24 pounds! I would like to mention that I had a big breakfast the day I was weighed, but still, slightly more than I was expecting.

Cravings: Trying to cut back on the junk this week so, Liam and I have been eating a lot of Jazz apples from Trader Joe’s. Sweet with just a hint of sour.

What I’m excited about: Taking a look at photographers this week. I regret not having newborn pictures taken of Liam and really want to book someone with experience taking great sibling shots!

What I’m nervous about: Waiting on the results from my glucose test! Eek!

New this week: This week I had a pregnancy massage while Asaf and Liam went to Gymboree. It was super relaxing and the masseuse said I had great skin. 😉

Note to Baby: We’ve set up the bassinet in our room and little by little we are getting ready for your arrival. Just sit back and relax – you’re doing great in there!

